Home / Learn / Our Community / Dean & Chapter

Dean & Chapter

The Chapter is the body of clergy responsible for the ministry and mission of the Cathedral. It is composed of four Dignitaries (Dean, Precentor, Chancellor and Treasurer), the Archbishop of Dublin, twelve Diocesan canons to represent each diocese of the Church of Ireland, nine canons elected by the Chapter, and two ecumenical canons elected by the Chapter.

There are two resident clergy who minister at the Cathedral: the Dean and the Dean’s Vicar. All other clergy serve in parishes or schools in Ireland.


The Very Revd William W. Morton, B.Th., M.A., M.Mus., Ph.D.

Dean’s Vicar

The Revd Charles Mullen, B.Th.

The Precentor

The Revd Peter R. Campion, B.A., B.Th., M.A., M.Phil.

Canon Campion was born in Canada and comes from a long line of Church of Ireland Clergy. After studying Psychology at Bishop’s University in Quebec, he moved to Dublin to begin training for the ordained ministry. His first parish was in Ardoyne in North Belfast. He then returned to university to study education at Homerton College, Cambridge after which he came back to Dublin to be curate of Taney parish and thereafter Dean’s Vicar at Saint Patrick’s Cathedral and teach in the Cathedral schools. After travelling to Canada to be chaplain at his old school, he returned to Ireland to be chaplain of The King’s Hospital, where he currently resides with his wife Rebecca and two children, Cressida and Felix. He has had a long association with Saint Patrick’s Cathedral having been a minor canon, Dean’s vicar, Treasurer’s vicar and now Precentor. He has also been on the Board of Management at Saint Patrick’s Cathedral Grammar School for the past eleven years. He was installed as Precentor in October,2015 having been Precentor at Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin for six years.

The Chancellor

The Very Revd Niall J. Sloane, M.A., M.Phil.

Originally from Co. Cavan, Canon Sloane was educated at the University of Dublin, Trinity College, the Milltown Institute of Theology and the Church of Ireland Theological College. Ordained in 2005, he served as Curate of Agherton, Diocese of Connor, until 2007, before becoming Senior Curate-Assistant of Taney in the Diocese of Dublin from 2007 until 2012. He is currently Dean of Limerick and Ardfert. A former Minor Canon of the Cathedral he was installed as Chancellor in October 2015. He also serves as Honorary Secretary of the Church of Ireland General Synod Commission for Christian Unity and Dialogue, Chairman of Sunday School Society for Ireland, Chairman of Board of Management of Glenageary-Killiney National School, a Governor of Rathdown School, an Honorary Clerical Secretary of APCK, a Trustee of SPCK and a member of General Synod. He is the co-author, with Victor Griffin, of A Short Catechism of Basic Church Teaching.

The Treasurer


The Chapter of the Cathedral

Prebendary of Cualaun               The Archbishop of Dublin

Prebendary of Taney                   The Very Revd Roderick Lindsay Smyth, M.Ed., B.Mus., B.Th., M.Th.

Prebendary of Newcastle            The Revd Aonghus William Alun Mayes, B.A., M.Litt.

Prebendary of Kilmactalway       The Revd J.K. McWhirter, B.Sc., B.Th., M.Th.

Prebendary of Swords                 The Revd Katherine Margaret Poulton, B.A.

Prebendary of Yagoe                   The Revd Malcolm Trevor Kingston, B.Sc., M.Sc., B.Th.

Prebendary of St Audoen’s          The Revd D Oxley, B.Th

Prebendary of Clonmethan         The Revd P.K. McDowell, B.A., B.Th.

Prebendary of Wicklow               The Revd S.E. Doogan, B.Th., LL.M.

Prebendary of Tymothan             The Revd P.M. Willoughby, B.A. Mod.

Prebendary of Mulhuddart           The Ven. C.W.L. McCauley, B.A., B.Th.

Prebendary of Castleknock          The Revd P.I. Aubuthnot, B.Th., M.A., M.Litt.

Prebendary of Tipper                   The Revd J.D.M. Clarke

Prebendary of Tassagard              The Very Revd Kenneth Robert James Hall, M.Phil.

Prebendary of Dunlavin               The Revd G.V. Wharton, B.Th., M.Phil

Prebendary of Maynooth              The Revd M.D. Gardner, M.A.

Prebendary of Howth                   The Revd D.W.T. Crooks, M.A., B.D.

Prebendary of Rathmichael          The Revd C.W. Mullen, B.Th.

Prebendary of Monmohenock       The Revd T.C. Kinahan, M.A.

Prebendary of Tipperkevin            The Revd Ian Gallagher, B.Th.

Prebendary of Donaghmore          Vacant

Prebendary of Stagonil                  The Revd P.A. Harvey, M.A.

Prebendary of Clondalkin              The Revd B. McKay, O.Carm., B.A., B.D., M. Phil.

Prebendary of Finglas                    The Revd C. McMullen, M.A.,M.Litt.,B.D.,D.D.

Sunday 5 June Dublin City Centre Road ClosuresImportant information about your journey to Saint Patrick's Cathedral.

We are open for visitors on Sunday 5 June! But wish to advise our visitors that, due to the VHI Womens' Mini Marathon, some temporary road closure will be in place today from 06.00 to 20.00. While our direct location will not be closed off, the measures in place may affect your journey to visit us.

Road closure information can be found here: Temporary Road Closures 2022 | Vhi Womens Mini Marathon

We look forward to welcoming you on your visit today and wish everyone taking part in VHI Womens' Mini Marathon the very best of luck!